Kristen Stewart at Cecil B. DeMille Award Recipient Announcement

November 1, 2012

Actor, director and producer Jodie Foster will receive the Cecil B. de Mille for lifetime achievement at the 70th Golden Globe Awards. Announcing this year’s choice at a press conference, HFPA president Dr. Aida Takla O’Reilly said “Jodie is a multifaceted woman that has achieved immeasurable amounts of success and will continue to do so in her career. Her ambition, exuberance and grace have helped pave the way for budding artists in this business. She’s truly one of a kind.”

Kristen Stewart, star of Walter Salles’ On the Road and of Twilight: Breaking Dawn Part II, and two-time Golden Globe nominee Simon Baker, star of the TV series The Mentalist, were presenters at the event. Foster is a two time Golden Globe winner, both as best actress in a motion picture-drama: first in 1989, for The Accused, and then in 1992 for The Silence of the Lambs. In addition, Foster was nominated five other times, the most recent one in 2011 for best actress in a comedy or musical for Carnage.

A long time veteran of film and television, Foster began her career at age three, appearing as The Coppertone Girl in the television commercial. She then went on to become a regular on a number of television series. She made her feature debut in Napoleon and Samantha when she was eight years old.

Foster’s breakthrough role in Alice Doesn’t Live Here Anymore (1975), led her to the iconic performance of a streetwise teenager in Martin Crosse’s Taxi Driver (1976), winning her widespread critical praise and international attention.
In total, Foster has appeared in more than 40 films. In addition to her acting, Foster has always had a keen interest in the art of filmmaking.
Foster made her motion picture directorial debut in 1991 with the highly acclaimed Little Man Tate, in which she also starred. Her most recent film, The Beaver, which stars Mel Gibson, was released in 2011. Since 1994 Foster has also become a producer, through her banner Egg Pictures.

The Cecil B. DeMille Award will be presented to Foster at the 70th Annual Golden Globe® Awards on Sunday, January 13, 2013 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Chosen by the HFPA Board of Directors, the Cecil B. DeMille Award is given annually to the talented individuals who have made an incredible impact on the world of entertainment. Morgan Freeman was bestowed with the honor last year. Previous honorees include Lucille Ball, Bette Davis, Walt Disney, Harrison Ford, Judy Garland, Audrey Hepburn, Sophia Loren, Robert De Niro, Al Pacino, Martin Scorsese, Frank Sinatra, Steven Spielberg, Barbra Streisand, among many others.

You can see many more pics here!


Be My Friend


Hey there! My name is Autumn and I wrote Bella's Diary. I'm also the website's owner/creator.
Some of you may know me as 'Krystal,' but I recently legally changed my name to Autumn, so I hope that clears up any confusion.
I like to do a lot of things, but I'm a writer first and foremost. It's my true passion. Feel free to check out my debut novella, 'My Darrling' on Goodreads here!
I'm also currently writing my own vampire/supernatural book series, and I'll keep you updated on that here once I know more.
I'm friendly, so make use of those social icons and feel more than free to add me! Thank you for visiting
P.S. I'm team Edward. ;)
Be My Friend